At the beginning

All my life I’ve always struggled with my weight. I was always the bigger girl that dreaded gym class. Don’t get me wrong, I love sports. I played basketball in both elementary and middle school and I swam all four years of High School. It seemed that no matter what I did, I would lose a little weight, but in half the time it took me to lose it, I gained it all back.

My personality has always been bright and bubbly and fun. I was always active in high school, but it seemed that once high school was over, I didn’t have the same motivation. I started college, and quickly gained 15 lbs. my first semester. I just laughed it off, thought to myself “oh it’s just the freshman 15”. With the stress of life my first year, I quickly ended my first year of college with an extra 20 lbs. I quickly approached and surpassed 200 lbs. The next thing I know, I passed 250. I started this year at roughly 260 lbs. and I finally had enough. At 23 years old, I was tired all the time. So I started the battle, and after 4 months of no real progress, I decided that I needed something different. So with the support of Mr. B, him and I started weight watchers on the first of May.

For those who don’t know about Weight Watchers, here’s a quick run down. It’s a points system. Every day, you get a certain amount of points. Foods have point values based on 4 things: grams of fat, grams of carbs, grams of fiber and grams of protein. At first, I was concerned that it would be something that meant a whole lot of diet foods. This was where I was unsure about what sort of outcome I could really expect. Every time I’ve started a diet in the past, it ended because I felt limited on the types of food I can eat. But WW really broke it down in a way that makes sense to me. I can have the ice cream, but if I have both the ice cream and the cookies then that doesn’t leave me with a lot of points for dinner, or lunch. Or if I have the salad for lunch instead of a bag of chips, sandwich, and 3 servings of cookies (a serving being 2 cookies), then when I get home I can have that BBQ Chicken Pizza for dinner and still have points for a snack later on in the night. Overall, it’s about balance and portion control, which I lacked. I’ve always lacked portion control. I come from a bigger family where it was almost like a sin to leave the table before you were overly stuffed or the food was gone depending on which came first. Or when you go to a restaurant and get the buffet and the motto is eat your fill or its a waste of money. Portion control was never taught, and I think that aided in my weight gain.

I started the month at 255 and it’s only May 16th, but I’m already down below 250. Goal 1 has been accomplished. At my weigh-in I was down to 249. That’s a step in the right direction.

xoxo,
Steph

Leave a Reply

