Chicken Casserole

Hello my darlings,

Many of you all know that Mr. B and I live on a budget. I’m a budget-er, I like to make a plan, and stick to it…for the most part.

Part of living on a budget is finding meals that can be stretched out but are still yummy.

Chicken Casserole is just that.

Here’s what you need:

  • Chicken (about 1 lb)
  • Cream of Chicken Soup (1 – 2 cans, personal preference)
  • Rice (cooked, about 2 – 4 cups)
  • Veggies (carrots and celery work great, but so do frozen bags of mixed veggies)
  • Fried Onion’s (personal preference)

Once you’ve gathered all your ingredients here’s the steps that you’ll need to follow:

1) First things first, you’ll need to cut your veggies (if fresh) and chicken. I normally cut the carrots and celery into small bite-size slices and the chicken into about 1 inch cubes. Once you’ve got this all cut up, then you’ll want to start to cook it. If you are using fresh veggies, then the carrots tend to need a little longer to cook, so I normally throw those into the pan first, followed by the chicken and celery.

cutting carrotscutting celery

2) If you haven’t already you’ll want to cook your rice. I tend to use instant rice for the most part. The amount of rice I use depends on how much I want to stretch it out. If it’s just something for Mr. B and I to eat for dinner, then I might only use like 1 to 2 cups of cooked rice. But if I want to make it last longer (like dinner for two days or enough leftovers for a lunch) then I tend to make it with about 2 to 4 cups of cooked rice. If you do use 4 cups of rice, then you’ll want at least a second can of cream of chicken soup.

 

3) After those three things are cooked, or two if you are using frozen veggies, you’ll want to combined the rice, veggies, cream of chicken soup and chicken into a baking dish. Depending on how creamy you want it, or even on how many cans of cream of chicken soup you have, that should give you a number of cans that you’ll need. For a small dish, I normally only use 1 can. If I make a bigger batch, then I’ll add a second can. It’s really up to you. If once everything is combined and it doesn’t look cream of soup-y enough, add another one. Word of warning though the more veggies, cream of chicken soup or rice you add the bigger the pan you’ll need. I think the largest I’ve made was a 15×10 (looking for a dish that size: Pyrex Bakeware 4.8 Quart Oblong Baking Dish, Clear ) and it was loaded with rice and veggies and cream of chicken soup, but I believe it was still only about a lb of chicken and Mr. B and myself ate that for dinner that night, lunch and dinner the next day and then Mr. B had it for lunch the following day (I can’t eat the same thing that many times in a row, but thankfully Mr. B can, so it always works out when I over cook, or stretch something pretty far).

4) Then you’ll add the fried onions (we use French’s, Fried Onions)
) to the top and cook at 350 degrees for about 15-20 minutes. You want everything to be nice and hot!

chicken_rice_finish

That’s it!

Hope you enjoy!!

Until next time,

xoxo
Steph

*This post contains links to an affiliate site

Leave a Reply

